Ex-Scientologist story #110, “OT levels were a lie.”

Robert Thompson took courses in Tampa and Ft. Lauderdale, Grades, NED, Level 0, Course Sup.  He was a Scientologist on and off for 30 years.  He found Scientology a mixed bag, some good, some not so good.  But in the end he quit for reasons easy to understand.

1. I survived on $25 – $50 per week in staff pay.
2. Most staff members receive little or no training or auditing beyond their basic hatting. I had to pay for almost all my training and auditing even as a staff member.
3. Knowledge reports are used to inform on other people. They are basically someone’s bad opinion of another person and may, or may not, have any basis in reality.
4. Statistics are used to judge one’s condition on a weekly basis. If stats are up then no one is on your back. If they are down then you have to get them up and these down stats can quickly lead to Ethics cycles, amends projects, lower conditions, etc.
5. The weekly stat push was often used to hard sell the public. I saw a lot of people separated from their life savings.

I found out the church had lied to all Scientologists about LRH’s death. We had been told at the 1986 event at Flag that he had voluntarily left his body to continue upper level OT research and that this research had to be done without a body. They said that he was in good health and simply lay down and turned off the body.

. . .  When I saw that he had died of a stroke that took 6 days to kill him and that he had Vistril, a psyche drug, in his system, I was shocked. I checked with the Ethics officer and DSA at the Tampa Org and they confirmed that the information on the internet was true.

The question that I asked myself was “Why would the church lie about LRH’s death?” That lead me through many of the critical web sites and I realized while reading this site’s “Through the Door” interviews that the OT levels were a lie. At that moment, the bridge to total freedom collapsed at my feet and lay in ruin. I finally saw my credulity and realized that I had been deceived.

To read the rest of his statement go here: http://alley.ethercat.com/cgi-bin/door/door.cgi?187

Published in: on May 9, 2011 at 2:20 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://androvillans.wordpress.com/2011/05/09/ex-scientologist-story-110-ot-levels-were-a-lie/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

