Ex-Scientologist story #147, OTs “sick, feeble, dying of cancer, wore thick glasses.”

True stories of a fake religion.

 

Martin Hunt says in his statement of December, 1997, I was in Scientology for two years in the late 1980s, and took a total of 18 courses to become a supervisor, that is, a teacher of Scientology and a minor executive in the Vancouver organization, the Director of Public Services. I had my “training” at ASHO, the American Saint Hill Organization, and ITO, the International Training Organization, both in the large blue Cedars of Lebanon complex Scientology owns in Los Angeles.

For years and years Scientology has boasted and bragged about the powers of the OTs, these Operating Thetans have, they claim, virtually unlimited power over the physical world.  They can travel in time, speak to the spirits of the dead, go out of their body to perform heroic feats and feats mundane.  Yet Martin Hunt weighed them in the balance and found these thetan powerhouses lacking. 

Scientology is, as I know it to be based on my experience, an empty organization, devoid of spirituality, cold, and utterly ruthless. I was ordered to disconnect from my family, which I refused to do. I was ordered to stay at my post and work through Christmas, which I also refused to do. I began to see that the organization did not live up to its many promises of improvement of people; I myself was not improved, and neither was anyone else I saw in the organization. I asked Scientology’s elite, operating thetans, to show to me some of the powers they claimed to have, and they failed miserably at this small task. Most “OTs”, as they are called, were elderly, sick, feeble, dying of cancer, wore thick glasses, and were unimpressive to me, mentally, physically, and spiritually.

Martin left Scientology in the dust and went on to be an energetic anti-Scientologist who was one of the early leaders in the newgroup Alt.Religion.Scientology, ARS.

To read the rest of the story go here:  http://www.xenu-directory.net/accounts/hunt19971229.html

For my take on the value of the OT courses go here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YPKP86P8Fwc

Published in: on May 19, 2011 at 11:42 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://androvillans.wordpress.com/2011/05/19/ex-scientologist-story-147-ots-sick-feeble-dying-of-cancer-wore-thick-glasses/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. […] This has not gone unnoticed among some Scientologist, now former Scientologists.  Martin Hunt, former member and case supervisor, states in his story of his time in the cult that: I began to see that the organization did not live up to its many promises of improvement of people; I myself was not improved, and neither was anyone else I saw in the organization. I asked Scientology’s elite, operating thetans, to show to me some of the powers they claimed to have, and they failed miserably at this small task. Most “OTs”, as they are called, were elderly, sick, feeble, dying of cancer, wore thick glasses, and were unimpressive to me, mentally, physically, and spiritually.  His story can be found on this link: https://androvillans.wordpress.com/2011/05/19/ex-scientologist-story-147-ots-sick-feeble-dying-of-can… […]


Leave a Reply

