Ex-Scientologist story #192, Free hepatitis with courses.

The following is a statement entered in as evidence during the 1982 Clearwater Hearings.  It mentions one of the few things that anyone has ever gotten from Scientology, in this case it was diseases.

Affidavit of Steven Garritano

1.  My introduction to Scientology was in January of 1977 when the following representations were made to me concerning the benefits of “auditing” and Scientology.  These representations were that auditing was scientifically guaranteed to confer the following benefits:

a.  raise my I.Q.;

b.  cure diseases and mental illness;

c.  solve drug problems and other personal problems;

d.  stabilize and promote familial harmony and unity;

3.  improve study habits and college grades;

f.  improve and perfect my piano skills; and

g.  improve my chess skills.

2.  Many false representations were made concerning the cult’s founder, L. Ron Hubbard, including the following:

a.  Hubbard was a war hero and had cured himself of war wounds and blindness;

b.  Hubbard was a nuclear physicist and a graduate of George Washington University;

c.  Hubbard was a philosopher.

3.  Based on the above representations I joined the Church of Scientology.  After 2-1/2 year experience as a Scientology I eventually discovered that the above representations were false and made for the single purpose of enticing people to purchase auditing and courses, and/or join staff.

4.  In early 1979 I was at Flag Land Base in Clearwater, Florida.  I contracted an illness which was later diagnoses to be hepatitis.  I received an injection (hypodermic needle) from a Scientologist dressed in a white uniform, which I was told was a “hepatitis vaccine”.  To my knowledge, this individual was not a medical doctor.

5.  I was later diagnosed by my father, Dr. Garritano and the Beth Israel Hospital in Boston to have suffered from hepatitis, mononucleosis and strept throat.

6.  While in Clearwater I observed the living conditions of staff members to be unsanitary.  On one occasion I entered a small room which was constructed to facilitate one occupant, inhabited by a minimum of eight people.  These individuals slept in 2 triple bunks and 2 single beds.

7.  The conditions for those individuals imprisoned in the Rehabilitation Project Force (R.P.F.) were unhealthy and unsanitary.  These individuals were forced to live and sleep in the garage.

8.  Many of the buildings and living quarters I observed were bug infested, and unsuitable for living.”

Signed under the pains and penalties of perjury,

[Signed 5/5/82]

Steven Garritano

Published in: on June 22, 2011 at 10:34 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://androvillans.wordpress.com/2011/06/22/ex-scientologist-story-192-free-hepatitis-with-courses/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

