Ex-Scientologist story #254, Mary Ann Bosnos demands refund.

True Stories of a Greedy Cult.

 

Here is the story of one couple that Scientology couldn’t pry apart with their evil disconnection policy.   Here are some excerpts from her story as told on an anti-disconnection website.

My story of Scientology “disconnection” is actually one of near disconnection. My husband & I ran across Scientology for the first time in Los Angeles in 1978, shortly after our marriage. We took a couple of Scientology courses and dropped it – he thought the amount of money they wanted was insane, and I objected to the control they seemed to want to exert over our lives.

Fast forward twenty years. It is now late 1998 and my husband has developed cancer – for the second time. He recalls that Scientology claims to address a mind-body connection underlying illness and goes into Buenaventura Mission in Ventura, California, where – vulnerable and distressed by the cancer – he is quickly recruited into Scientology with promises that they can “help.”

My husband began doing Scientology courses and auditing in early 1999, and the Mission immediately began pressing him for money. And then more money. And then more money.

Throughout 1999, my husband was drawn deeper and deeper into Scientology, and their pressure for money ratcheted up – including demands that we drain retirement accounts, max out credit cards, etc. As long as he believed that Scientology might help him avoid a recurrence of cancer, I didn’t feel I should oppose it. So I watched, with growing dismay, as their demands for his time and money increased.

My husband began urging me to join Scientology. I said that, although I wouldn’t object to his involvement with Scientology as long as he believed it was helping him health-wise, I had no interest in it for myself. It was very unlike him to pressure me to do anything – throughout our marriage we had supported and encouraged each other – never pressured. And yet he began pressuring me intensely to just try Scientology; just take a course or two.

What I didn’t know was that Mission staff were telling him that, unless he could persuade me to join Scientology, he would have to divorce me. Even though I was not opposing his involvement with Scientology, they apparently saw me as a “Potential Trouble Source” and it was either recruit me or leave me.

In late 1999, to keep peace in the house, I agreed to try Scientology. For the next six months, I took courses and did auditing at Buenaventura Mission. The hard-sell pressure for money never let up.

At this point Mary Ann called out for help and found some takers.  Jesse Prince, Stacy Brooks and others gave her information and moral support.  Both Mary Ann and her husband walked out of the org with a refund check in hand.  To find out more about the Scientology practice of disconnection go here and read the stories.  http://www.scientologydisconnection.com/disconnections.html

 

Published in: on August 4, 2011 at 4:44 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://androvillans.wordpress.com/2011/08/04/ex-scientologist-story-254-mary-ann-bosnos-demands-refund/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

