Ex-Scientologist story #287, Lost Mission; Found Spirit.

Here is the story of Pete Griffith, an ex-member who makes reminds me somewhat of the actor Tom Baker, crawled down the rabbit hole of Scientology just to see what he could see.

My brother, Dave Griffiths, experienced Book One and had some wins. e told my wife and me about it. It all seemed  pretty intriguing and my wife ordered the Dianetics book from Sunderland Org.   Some time later she went along to said org and started a course of auditing then later  I went along, initially to collect her but I got roped into doing the OCA and also bought some auditing being persuaded to spend that month’s mortgage payment with the lie that once the barriers were
gone nothing could stop me from making tons of money.  I had wins on Book One and really wanted more of this but like many people we were broke, working class, North of England,  and then we got the OFFER OF A LIFETIME!!!

Why don’t you join staff and help others go clear and train and go clear
yourself?

Well, hey this sounds great.  We get to meet the Executive Director of the org, Derek Craggs, a very cool laid-back guy, one of the questions he asked was, what kind of wages are you used to getting? I answered about 200 pounds a week, whereupon he said, yes, that should be ok.  I’m thinking, so if I get that much a week and my wife also works at the org and trains, we’ll be on as much as we are now and helping clear the planet and going free and heading to OT (Operating Thetan, Scientology term for a being at cause over matter, energy, space, time, thought, forms and life)!

We joined staff. I’m not sure how long it took for reality to sink in, certainly in a very short space of time we were sent to saint hill for training, me first, they had detected some abilities in me that they thought were special and I was sent to do the OEC (Organization Executive Course, a study of Hubbard’s policy letters relating to running a supposedly successful Scientology Organization).

My wife, heavily pregnant followed a week or two later, but where’s my wages? Why aren’t they sending my wages, like they promised? Finally I get to talk to the financial girl, Jackie Ede and she says she will send what she can.

Meanwhile we are owing rent to the people we are staying with, actually Clair Headley’s Mum,  and studying during the day starting in the morning, through to lunch, more study, then dinner for
an hour, then more study till 10 or 11 or even later on a Wendsday!

When i received the 8 pounds I was in heaven, wow! 8 pounds! Another week rolled by, I’m on course wondering how i’m going to feed myself at lunchtime with no money and a wife pregnant with our first child, the course supervisor,  David Press, sees I have a problem, I open up and tell him, he curses, “Oh these outer orgs!”

Anyway we somehow manage to get through it, selling our house certainly helped, and I manage to complete the OEC in record time, have more wins in session, recall quite clearly seeing my whole track just open up before me like pulling back a curtain. I was so overjoyed when I told my wife at lunch break, “We don’t die!” my God, it’s all true!”

I return to the org for like a few days and they decide I’m FEBC material (Flag Executive Briefing Course, the Saint Hill Special Briefing Course for executives, more of Hubbard’s policies, based on the Management Series and some tapes)  and before I know whats what I’m heading to LA to do the FEBC.

Wow, did I feel honoured. I get on the course and meet some really great people.  Chinese School is a bit like brainwashing but hey, if LRH says it’s ok then it must be ok. This guy really knows the truth. There were some hints of things being not quite right,  strange, sideways, hunted, haunted looks from some of the Sea Org people, but hey having an English accent went a long way.

Do you know what? I can honestly say that the individual scientologists I met on a daily basis were absolutely fine human beings, none finer, we were clearing the planet, after all.  Six weeks roll by and I’m very much aware that my wife is almost due to give birth and that  I made her a promise to be there.  I start to make preparations to leave, well you can imagine how that went down, haha, oh by the way I forgot to mention this is 1987 and whilst staying at Celebrity Centre International in an unfinished room crammed with about eight bunk beds, one fine morning, the earthquake struck at about ten minutes to 8am.  I was in the service elevator on the 4th floor and had just pressed DOWN,  or whatever it was, my initial thought was that the cable had snapped and I was hurtling towards my doom. Your mind and body work fast in these situations and I stepped out, realised it was the building moving as I looked out the window and saw the swaying, back and forth, raced down the stairs from 4th floor to ground floor, across the lobby, leapt over the LRH bust that was falling in slow motion to the floor, and into the car park, at that point the earthquake stopped.

I found out later the quake had lasted 8 seconds, i thought, wow, I’m OT !  I got from the 4th floor elevator down the stairs, watching plaster cracking on the walls as I leapt and across the lobby into the car park in under 8 seconds!  Wow!

Anyway to wrap up my LA adventures, apart from almost getting mugged one night and wanking on the roof as a police helicopter went by with searchlights, I finally blew the course and headed out for LAX with $100 I had borrowed from a lovely girl I was on purif with,  I did my purif in LA, and flew back to UK in time to see my daughter born… I’ll end this here, maybe continue later… its something else to be re-living this stuff after so many years.

I got back to the UK in time for my daughters birth.  My wife and I had to waalk all the way to the hospital as we couldn’t afford a taxi and had sold our car. We just made it in time.  Did we have a silent birth? As there was major renovations going on next door that would have been difficult.  She gave birth to the sound of an electric drill.  I was expecting repercussions from blowing the FEBC  but nobody said a word! I was just put on post, division 6 body routing the unsuspecting public into the building, up 3 flights of stairs and into an OCA test, think its called something else in the US, lets just call it 200 questions, at this point I would like to apologise humbly to anyone that I got into scientology and I know there are a few of you who spent a little or a lot, I apologise sincerely to you all.

Now that’s out of the way I’ll continue the story.  We just slaved away like everyone does, working day and foundation hours, my wife in the course room and me on the street or evaluating tests and trying to sell selling Dianetics: The Modern Science of Mental Health.

This went on for a few months, my wife became pregnant again, that’s when the seriousness of our situation began to bother us.  Org wages went from zero to 8 to a staggering 35 pounds on one rare occasion. Some poor sucker must have paid in a whack of cash that week.  We got wrapped up in the birthday game, went to events at saint hill, all the usual stuff, we were paying a babysitter so we could go to the org and work for nothing, but we were on the road to freedom, we were doing the best thing anyone in the world could possibly do, we were freeing mankind, we were the good guys!

Despite that we realised that we could not continue as we were. Events took a turn when my wife was declared ann illegal staff member for having wokred in a psychiatric hospital and just ike that, she was off staff.  So I went on to the Staff Leaving Routing Form just to do things properly, and join her.  The purpose of this action is to give you every opportunity to change your mind and stay on staff. Anyone who ever went onto that action can tell you, it takes forever, or never, to get completed, the HAS (Hubbard Area Secretary) in our first interview lost her temper and yelled “I’ve EPd on you!” EP’d is Scientologese for had  enough, the end product is reached.

That makes me laugh to this day, but i persevered and can honestly say, never, ever, got into session to do the security check part of the routing form. Realising that we would never leave standardly we decided to just blow and with a lot of fear we packed up and left without telling anyone (oh what a
crime!).  Naturally attempts were made to contact us and route out properly and your freeloader bill will be enormous and so on but we stuck to it and got jobs and tried to build a life.  However we stayed in communication with the org and I began to get the idea of opening a mission in my local area.  We still thought the co$ was something the world needed to hear about at that point. So I cut through lots of red tape/policy and although declared SP for leaving and not returning I managed to become a mission Executive Director and was given a mission starter package from like ten years before that had sat in someone’s shed near Manchester all that time and got the remnants of another that had lain in a disused room at the HASI in Edinburgh.   I got my stuff set up and began operating a mission, not bad for a Suppressive Person.

We did very well initially. I ran a campaign in a free paper with 200 questions printed on the back and got some people in that way.  I sold them the staff lie that they could move up the bridge and help others at same time. At one point we actually had 6 people on staff but the thing was that they had no training and with the exception of course supervisor which my wife did I wore every other hat as I desperately tried to train the people I had up to a level where they could be useful.

We got some awards for book sales and I was commended by the CO UK, Craig Mathieson, at a meeting for my marketing skill although he did say “this guy is declared”, it was just a way to get the org people embarrassed into producing more than a little biddy mission in the middle of nowhere.

This was at Manchester Org. The Sunderland guys were still chasing me for my freeloader thinking I was raking in a fortune from the mission. I got my bro who is in the Sea Org in Denmark to give me an insurance policy he had and we cashed it in and i gave them something.  We really tried to make things go right, week after week, playing the birthday game, trying to get a society with no interest in the subject to become interested enough to part with huge sums of money for books and courses
and training.

I went to flag to a mission holders conference and had a great time, when I came back from flag I felt that I could just glow things right for a while but gradually things slowed down and books were not sold and students dried up and this episode came to an end when we got a sudden visit from one of the SMI (Scientology Missions International) guys from Saint Hill , Gerald Laws, who announced that the mission was closed down and transferred into someone else’s hands.  I’m stood there experiencing a secondary (haha), when Gerald suddenly yells, “and don’t look so bloody noble about it!”

That must be another OT ability I have, to look noble in defeat, haha, I’m laughing but it was terrible, I’d lost my mission.  I went along to the new one to help the guy get it going but he’d had no training and was willing but clueless. I think it just faded away into nothingness eventually, which is quite heartening really as it means that the co$ can just fade away into nothing.

I just drifted away from Scientology, concentrated on raising my family and never even questioned any of it until February 2008.  My current tone scale theory is that the co$ is now at -30 CAN’T HIDE and I hope I’m lucky enough to witness the end, but thats jumping ahead, no, to be honest that really ends my “how I got in” story. 

My “how I got out story” starts  12 and half years later when a friend told me he was going to picket the mission in Dublin and I asked why? I said, those are good genuine people, and he advised me to look it up online, so that’s just what I did and now I am  totally free, from Hubbard’s lies, thank you Garanon, and thank you to everyone who had the courage to start posting stuff and telling the truth, Tory Magoo,  Jason Beghe, Marc Headley, Paulette Cooper, Jon Atack, John Duignan, xenutv, anonymous, Operation Clambake and if I didn’t mention anyone it’s because there are really too many people to mention.

Now how will I get my brother out?

Here are a couple of videos of the irrepressible Pete Griffith.

Published in: on September 2, 2011 at 6:00 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://androvillans.wordpress.com/2011/09/02/ex-scientologist-story-287-lost-mission-found-spirit/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

