Ex-Scientologist story #293, Child Neglect in Scientology.

Please, not the salad, not the salad!!

Low Priority for Child Welfare

by Adeline Dodd-Bova

I left Scientology two years ago. I had been a teacher and word clearer in Scientology schools, including Delphi, for three years. I loved the children and was very dedicated to my profession. It was personal observation that provided me the first clue that Scientology placed a low priority on the welfare of children. A co-worker and I began to notice certain neglect and occasionally even abuse among the children we taught. We observed that many Scientology parents climbing the “Bridge to (their own) Total Freedom” assumed almost no responsibility for their children. Children often came to school with little or no food. Children, aged 3 and 4, had to pack heir own lunches — when they could find any food at home to pack. You can imagine what their lunches consisted of. Busy parents who were working and doing
courses rarely had time to shop. Some children arrived at 7:30 a.m. and at times did not leave until 6:30 p.m. They often had been shuffled from house to house after school and had little sleep. This seemed to us to be a direct contradiction to the regimen the parents rigorously observed for their own Scientology auditing [counseling] and training to be well- rested and fed prior to session or course time.

Having observed these contradictions, I began to regain my ability to think critically again and mentally began to leave Scientology. I continued teaching. At this time I taught at Basic Education Center, a “special” school with the best of both worlds: a mixture of Scientologists and “real people.” I believed I could teach there and be safe with my newly re-acquired ability to think for myself. After all, this was a non-religious private school, an equal-opportunity employer. I could have a private life with the fr

These were the children of dedicated Scientologists. Students’ files revealed previous teachers’ statements of  incidents of physical and sexual abuse. All of these cases were reported to the principal. The reports were “handled” by Scientology alone. Teachers dared not report these crimes on their own outside the school for fear of losing their jobs.

But even by keeping quiet, my position was not made safe. The cult’s practice of “Suppressive Person Declares ,” still  alive and active after all these years, brought the situation to a head.

I was “declared” at the end of February, 1991. I joined the ranks of those honored individuals and I am proud. I wonder  if people are aware how little one needs to do in order to have the title of SP bestowed. In actuality, one need only know the right people. The news of my new status, persona non grata, spread rapidly. My life changed quickly. At first I  told my declare had no bearing on my teaching position and that I was a well- respected and cherished employee: what I did on my own time — associate with the Cult Awareness Network — was my personal business. As a matter of fact, my employer, the principal, preferred not to know anything about it.

Eventually she took the cult to court and won a settlement.  The treatment of children told about above is consistent with other stories told by former Scientologists, especially the children who had to endure those wretched schools. For the complete link go here: http://www.scientology-lies.com/adelinedoddbova.html

Here is something I found on YouTube that speaks to this issue.  The problem is global; this one is from Ireland.

This story is from down under.

Published in: on September 9, 2011 at 10:12 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://androvillans.wordpress.com/2011/09/09/ex-scientologist-story-293-child-neglect-in-scientology/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

