Ex-Scientologist story #315, Down and out in Edinburgh, stats crashed!

Moira Hutchinson was sent to the US to take some classes but when she returned what did she find?  A real mess.  The small staff and few public members had mostly left; only a handful remained.  She did her best to get things going again but when she failed at this impossible task she was, in true Sea Org style, blamed for the lack of growth and money.  It was her “crimes” that impeded the growth of Scientology; not the extremely bad reputation that the cult has done so much to deserve!

 

Upon my return to the UK  I found that I was to be made the ED in Edinburgh.   The org now only comprised of 2 staff and less than 10 clients.    Seven months prior to this, when I left Britain, this org consisted of  20 staff and circa 50 clients.

What had happened was that all of these people had ‘defected’ to form ‘splinter groups’.   This was slammed by the church, who called all of the people using this technology outside of the church’s umbrella ‘squirrels’.   Members in good standing were forbidden to communicate with any of them.

This heralded the beginning of my struggle to keep an org running in Edinburgh, I was making some money with the sale of basic courses, materials and books.   However, I inherited a #900.00 phone bill, #750.00 rates bill, #600.00 electric bill etc etc.   The phone was disconnected and I had to use public phone boxes.   I had several
writs served for non-payment of bills.   I was actually successful in talking a Sheriff out of auctioning all of the furniture in the org. All requests for financial help were ignored by the Sea Org.   Of course, the money had to still be filtered upwards.

This added fuel to the niggling doubts I had started to have about the church and how it operated.   After about a month of being the ED, the current COUK called me down to East Grinstead.   This was an attempt to get me to ‘confess my transgressions that I must have committed’.  You see because I was now supposed to be a hot-shot, I was expected to have the statistics of the org turned around and back to the level they had been prior to my departure to LA.    One of the key issues here was that I was supposed to make money for the church.   It did
not matter that all resources were now depleted and any possible solution had to start back at the basics.   It was considered not acceptable to hold seminars, workshops etc using the basic Dianetic information.   The courses that I was signing people up for at this point ran at a cost of #20 – #40.   One day I made the mistake of telling one of my superior officers about a wonderful older lady that I had signed up to do a communication course.   I was told that I had to sell the whole bridge to her.  An officer was sent up from East Grinstead to facilitate
this.   I was harassed and chased by upper management to do this, they did not care for her well being.   They just wanted the money.

Anyways, I was ‘busted’ as the ED twice.   There was a new COUK now (the other one had been ‘busted’ for having an affair  with an underage girl who baby-sat his children.   In my first conversation with her she accused me of having destroyed the Org in Edinburgh.Shortly after this I was summoned to the Sea Org HQ in East Grinstead, supposedly for one day, I was kept there for a whole week so that I could complete a program very similar to the RPF where I had to write down all of my transgressions committed against the church and carry
out menial physical duties. . .
Once my ‘ethics were intact’ I was told that I was going to be sent on a “garrison mission” to Plymouth.   This is where a Sea Org Officer is sent to an Org, expected to perform miracles with the revenue and other statistics of org performance.   It also usually meant that the officer was left there indefinitely.

So I went to Plymouth and did my be st, as I always did.   I was pregnant when I went to Plymouth.   I miscarried in my fourth month (not really surprising due to my very poor diet and the fact that I worked seven days a week 8:00 am- 10:00pm).   I wanted to take some time off to recover, the request was denied. . .
I did the confessional, wrote up my transgressions, namely having an affair while still legally married to another.   I wrote a list of every project I was working on, which client was doing what, who had been promised what.   Upon completion of this, I went down a back set of stairs and left the building via the fire escape.   This was due to a tacit agreement between my friend and myself that I had to leave.  

The church made three attempts to get me to return.   (I would have had to report straight to the RPF, of course!).   In  the third one, I was actually kidnapped to be taken to East Grinstead.   I managed to jump off the train at the station before East Grinstead.   Luckily I had enough money on me to pay for a train ticket back to Plymouth.  

Within a month I received a declaration stating that I was now classified as a Suppressive Person.

Later she would write a requiem of sorts on her experience in Scientology, it serves as a warning to others.

Ten years have passed since all of this happened.   I view Scn with very different eyes now.   My life experience in these past years has taught me that there is no one right path to lead us through this life, nor does any one person have the right to dictate a thought system, slandering all others.  The Scn Technology I was taught was focused a lot on freedoms; freedom from control, from self inflicted hang ups and so on.   This, in my opinion, is where Scn gets its appeal, as we all want freedom in some form or another.  However, in reality there is a large amount of fear in the people who work in the church.   An opposing opinion meant an ethics investigation and handling.   Depending on the severity of the opposition to the thought system, a person could be declared a Suppressive Person.   Whenever this happened, in my experience, the remaining staff/officers would make statements like  –  “I always suspected he/she was suppressive”.   I am sure the same was said of me once I was declared.

I have to say that although I admit to having some success with some of the processing, my belief system has changed very much.   I have grown up and taken charge of my life.   One thing I can say that the whole experience has taught me is to ensure that I explore everything when any type of spiritual or philosophical train of thought or belief system comes my way.   I will never allow myself to be involved with an organization which takes people out of the real world.

I feel very strongly that no one should become involved with the Church of Scientology.   The setup I was exposed to was a hierarchy to make money.   There was very little evidence of true caring for the clients by the management.   Staff members become wrapped in a cause.  The work hours and rules are so demanding, the real world ceases to exist.

For the rest of the story go here: http://www.spaink.net/cos/mpoulter/sods/moirah.html

Published in: on September 28, 2011 at 11:35 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://androvillans.wordpress.com/2011/09/28/ex-scientologist-story-315-down-and-out-in-edinburgh-stats-crashed/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

