Oh, those crazy OTs, what will they think of next? #9

Behold the Scientology brains!!!

Over the years Scientology has made some astonishing claims as to what their adherents who have taken their upper level courses can do.  These people, termed “OTs” meaning that they are “Operating Thetans,” have the ability to travel in time, speak with ghosts (human and otherwise) manipulate matter, are immune to disease, read minds, see objects and people by remote viewing and have soaring intellects.  Where these powerful beings are kept is unknown except to say that people with great powers are conspicuously absent from the visible ranks of Scientology. 

Claims of these almighty abilities have been printed in the Scientology publication Advance!  When I started reading these OT success stories I just assumed that these tales were all the product of Scientology writers making fanciful claims at the behest of the editor.  But the truth is worse, Far Worse.  In his book Counterfeit Dreams Jeff Hawkins, who once served as an editor for that magazine, tells us that these stories were solicited from the Scientology org.  Readers were encouraged to write their OT experiences.  In other words, these people really believed that these things had actually happened!!  In view of their stories it seems incredible to outsiders that anyone could delude themselves enough to put their names on such drivel.  But the zany cult goes the extra mile to keep everyone else entertained.

In this particular bit of Scientology drivel an idiot OT thinks that he has caused part of the sky to explode.

I was in my office on the 11th floor of our building when I heard the Concord [sic] (jet) going over above. I looked out the window and saw the plane flying low to the north. The weather was warm and mildly cloudy. About five minutes later, while still in my office, I became aware of a mass one quarter mile up in the sky. I looked out but could see nothing.
After I sat down again, my awareness of the mass continued so I put a beam up towards it. A thunderous explosion followed and I received a tremendous return flow along the beam, which lifted my body at least six inches out of the chair. My secretary came running through to tell me some fool must be dynamiting in the centre of the city and near our building at that.
Later that same evening in the Foundation Org, someone mentioned that they had heard a crash like thunder and the time but on looking out the window could not see any rain clouds. They work on the other side of town and were still puzzled by the bang.
No doubt some kind of ridge had built up, and on my poking a beam into it, it had become unbalanced and dramatically dispersed.
Woke up the city nicely and caused me to chuckle no end.
John Protheroe, OT

From Advance! magazine, issue 17

Published in: on February 24, 2012 at 8:51 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://androvillans.wordpress.com/2012/02/24/oh-those-crazy-ots-what-will-they-think-of-next-9/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

