Ex-Scientologist story #320, actor Philip Boyd quits cult.

The overwhelming greed and crass stupidity of Scientology has cost them another member, this time it is Philip Boyd, a promising young actor.  The following quotes were taken from the  Village Voice Blog, 10/4/11, story by Tony Ortega.

But for about two years, in 2007 and 2008, Boyd was among the pampered elite who take courses at the Hollywood Celebrity Centre, and he went regularly, seeing Tom Cruise there and also hanging out with Giovanni Ribisi.

Boyd told me that he had first encountered L. Ron Hubbard’s book Dianetics years before and “thought it had good ideas.” But he didn’t actually join the organization until 2007, when his career was stalling because of a “toxic relationship,” he says.

Taking the courses seemed to help get him back on track.

But despite that positive turn, Boyd says he felt odd about the way others acted around him.

“I never got to the point of pure excitement about L. Ron Hubbard,” he says. “That was one of the things that kind of freaked me out was the way they thought of him.”

At gala events, for example, crowds would cheer “Hip-hip-hooray” to Hubbard’s portrait, dozens of times.

Boyd says he couldn’t help feeling that it had parallels with a Nuremberg rally. . .

Then he took the “Purification Rundown,” a program of vitamins given in toxic doses and dangerously long periods of time in a sauna.

“A girl passed out and was taken to the hospital,” he says. “Then they wanted to charge her $300 for auditing to explain why she got sick.” Boyd thought that was pretty ridiculous, too. “She ended up blowing as well,” he says, using the Scientology word for “defecting.”

After almost a month in the sauna, Boyd himself began to have problems.

“On the 29th day, I started throwing up. A lot. But they would tell me to go back in. When I did, after five minutes, I’d throw up again.” For three days, it was the same. But Boyd says he could feel that he was hurting himself with the procedure. “I finally told them, ‘I’m done.’ I wanted no more part of it.”

The final straw, he says, came when his registrar — the person assigned to getting money out of him — asked for his bank account information so that money could be taken directly out of it.

“They told me all the other actors did it that way. They told me it was a way to help organize my finances,” he says.

“It was less hassle for me, they said. Yeah, less hassle for them to rape my bank account.”

To read the full story go here: http://blogs.villagevoice.com/runninscared/2011/10/philip_boyd_sav.php

Published in: on October 5, 2011 at 12:54 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://androvillans.wordpress.com/2011/10/05/ex-scientologist-story-320-actor-philip-boyd-quits-cult/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a comment